Fields of Lavender

 

When the sun started to shine back in June I began to think about summer day trips and first on my list was visiting the lavender fields not too far from me. I first attempted to go to them in July with my dad but we ended up at a really run down garden centre with a few sprigs of lavender in pots. Not what I had in mind! So I researched some more and in August I visited the purple field of dreams with my friend Nicky and her little boy Harrison.

image

We arrived to rows and rows of purple loveliness. I thought the smell would be really strong and leave you smelling like your granny for days but that wasn’t the case. I couldn’t really smell it at all to be honest which was a bit of a shame but lets be honest, I wasn’t there for the smell, I was there to get snap happy and that is exactly what I did. Armed with two lenses, Nicky as my assistant, a baby and a toddler we were ready to create some magic and I was pretty pleased with how the photos turned out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Both children were so well behaved and were the perfect models for us crazy mummies. We did quite well to get a row with no people in although occasionally someone crept into the background which drove me potty. Couldn’t they see we were mummies on a mission with children who could erupt with a meltdown any second?!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

image

Planning their escape route!

Considering it was a pretty dull day we managed to get some lovely shots as soon as we arrived and after a bit of cake and 7Up (diet of mums) we nipped back to try and grab a few more until the babies had had enough and the rain came!

imageimage

We had such a lovely morning snapping away amongst beautiful lavender and I know we’ll be back next year for round two of photos although something tells me we’ll need more bribes…

Thanks for reading,

 

Sarah x

 

image

Leave a Reply

