And Then She Turned Three

Betty my darling girl, you are now three years old.Instead of feeling a bit sad like your first two birthdays I was so happy and excited for you to turn 3.

You understood what your birthday was and you couldn’t wait for it to arrive. For the two weeks running up to your birthday you would run to my bedside each morning shouting that it was your birthday or asking in a sweet angelic way in the hope that a calm precious approach would all of a sudden make it your special day. Each morning was a huge disappointment to you which I must admit got a bit tiring by day four.


The day finally came though and as a treat, and in the hope that it’d make you sleep in longer, I let you sleep in my bed the night before. As you woke (super early!) you snuggled into me and said “mama is it my birthday?” I was finally able to say yes and it was probably the happiest I’ve seen you in three years. Your very first response was “can I have breakfast in bed Mama?” Which judging by your face seemed like a very special treat indeed. I granted you your wish and then you exclaimed ” I’m older!” 

You are older sweet girl and my don’t we know it. I was sad for your last two birthdays because I didn’t want you to get bigger, it all seemed to be happening so fast. As much as I wish you’d stay small for a tad longer I am just loving you at 3 years old.


We hold proper conversations, you are so articulate. Your imagination is off the scale and I adore to watch and listen to you play games you have made up.

Babies are a new favourite and you are so very caring towards your baby Annabell. Watching you with her shows me how incredible you would be if you were to ever be a big sister. You have formed some beautiful friendships and now play wonderfully with children your own age.


Some things don’t change as you are still as feisty, strong willed, determined and as  sassy as ever. I don’t want that to change, those qualities will take you places if you use them correctly. 

I’m so excited for the next year with you and to watch you grow even more.

Love,

Mama x

Leave a comment